jump to navigation

UI for Healing Valithria Dreamwalker February 17, 2010

Posted by Leiyan in AddOns/Mods/Macros, Icecrown Citadel, Tree.
trackback

Instead of having a fancy dinner on Valentine’s day, my husband and I were in the upper reaches of Ice Crown Citadel, saving a green dragon by the name of Valithria.  We found 8 other adventurers, willing to forgo the holiday in favor of mauling faces, and we managed a guild first Valithria  save.   As we have yet to save this drake in 25s, I think our experiences here will help us fine tune our guild raid attempts on Thursday and there are a couple of points I wanted to go over.

Our 10s team:

Tanks: A Prot Paladin and a Prot Warrior
Healers: A Resto Druid (myself) and a Resto Shaman as drake healers.  Our Feral Druid graciously specced Tree to raid/tank heal for this boss.
DPS: A Rogue, a Ret Paladin , a Hunter, a Warlock, and a Moonkin.

Now, since I went through the portals, I honestly have very little idea of what the DPS, Tanks, or other Resto Druid did during that fight.  Suffice it to say, they were an excellent team and they did a fantastic job of killing the adds and staying alive long enough for the Shaman and I to heal Valithria.  For the remainder of this post, I am going to focus on setting up a Druid UI for healing Valithria.

Valithria Dreamwalker UI Settings

I had about 8 attempts on this encounter as a drake healer on our second night of trying in 25s.  Given that I had been relegated to raid/tank healing for the first night I was relatively unprepared for the switch to drake healing.  Luckily, I did have a spare Rapid Rejuvenation glyph on hand, but I spent the first few attempts adjusting Quartz to show my healing buffs on the drake, writing a macro to quickly re-attain Valithria as my target, setting up Power Auras to tell me how many stacks I had, how long they would last, and how long I had left in the Dream State, and getting some first hand experience with the green clouds.  I was finally getting into my stride around the fifth attempt once I was able to get my UI set up.

HoT Timers
As others have mentioned, having a HoT timer can be of crucial importance.  I already had quartz installed, so I simply had to enable the focus buffs module, resize it, and place it in an appropriate location on my screen.  At first, right in the middle of my screen, right on top of my character and above my raid frames, seemed an obvious choice… but that quickly proved to be a terrible idea as I couldn’t click on the portals to get into the Dream State.  I frantically disabled it partway through the attempt and had to use the little buff icons on my focus frame.

Next, I followed the advice I’ve seen in various places and disabled my raid frames.  I moved the focus buff bars to where my raid frames used to be.  This worked out very well.  My eyes were already used to watching that area of my screen while paying attention to where my character was standing (to avoid the Fire and what not), so I was able to pay attention to my refresh timers, move out of void zones, and get to portals fairly easily.

For future attempts, I do not think I’ll be using a HoT timer of any sort…. I’ll explain this in more detail in another post.

Macros

I’m a little uncertain how much benefit Wild Growth has in this encounter, or if other Trees would recommend using it or not, but I decided to include it in my rotation. When I was healing the raid/tank, I made sure to put Wild Growth of Valithria every cooldown… raid members stood near enough to the drake that it splashed onto at least 4 or 5 others (I used Glyph of Wild Growth) while healing Valithria so I never skimped on my assignment while helping a little with drake healing. As a drake healer and using Glyph of Nourish, Wild Growth adds 6% more healing to Nourish, so I figured I could help with a little raid healing while not skimming on my drake healing assignment.  In either situation this macro came in extremely handy.
#showtooltip Wild Growth
/target Valithria
/focus
/cast Wild Growth

As a raid healer, this macro would automatically target Valithria for the Wild Growth and it put her as my focus target so I can see how the fight was progressing over all. As a drake healer, this assured that my focus buff bars would become active again and set Valithria as my target without having to frantically click all over the screen trying to find her behind raid members and adds.

Power Auras Classic

After going through the Dream State a few times, I quickly saw the need for a big number on my screen to tell me when I only had 3 or 4 seconds left in the Dream State.  I was also having difficulty tracking how many buffs I had and how much longer they would last.  The little red debuff bars on the side of my screen just wasn’t cutting it, so here comes my favorite addon to the rescue.

I think I’m still going to tweak things a little bit, but this image basically shows how I intend to have my auras set up.  The big plus sign means that I have the Emerald Vigor debuff on me.  The number in the upper left side is how many stacks are active, the number in the upper right side is how much longer the debuff will last.  The ring circling around that indicates that I am currently inside the Dream State, while the timer at the top counts down how many seconds I have left before being dropped out of the Dream.  I think I’m going to move that timer to the bottom of the ring so that it is more visible.  I might move the stack number and stack timer to the lower half of the plus sign as well…and I’ll probably change that icon.  I was in a hurry when I set it up. =)

Anyways, these auras helped me keep track of what was going on so very much.  They were probably the single biggest contributor to helping me feel more confident in the Dream.

Also, despite the greenish tint to the Dream and the bright green color of my auras, I found them easy to see while flying around.

Emerald Vigor
Version:st3.0.0E; gcd:bofalse; b:nu0; anim1:nu1; g:nu1; optunitn:bofalse; ignoremaj:botrue; stacksLower:nu0; target:bofalse; icon:stInterface\Icons\Spell_Nature_ElementalShields; size:nu0.75; torsion:nu1; r:nu0.23137254901961; y:nu164; x:nu0; customname:st; groupany:botrue; isAlive:botrue; timerduration:nu0; unitn:st; bufftype:nu2; stacks:nu0; focus:bofalse; raid:bofalse; texture:nu25; alpha:nu0.75; aurastext:st; symetrie:nu0; owntex:bofalse; isResting:bofalse; duration:nu0; mine:bofalse; multiids:st; inVehicle:bofalse; speed:nu1; anim2:nu0; spec2:botrue; stacksOperator:st>; realaura:nu1; InactiveDueToState:botrue; threshold:nu50; exact:botrue; textaura:bofalse; sound:nu0; wowtex:bofalse; groupOrSelf:bofalse; customsound:st; combat:nu0; id:nu145; inParty:nu0; HideRequest:bofalse; Active:botrue; aurastextfont:nu1; buffname:stEmerald Vigor; inRaid:nu0; tooltipCheck:st; customtex:bofalse; stance:nu10; isSecondary:bofalse; thresholdinvert:bofalse; spec1:botrue; Debug:bofalse; beginSpin:bofalse; Showing:botrue; UseOldAnimations:bofalse; begin:nu0; off:bofalse; party:bofalse; texmode:nu1; inverse:bofalse; ismounted:bofalse; targetfriend:bofalse; randomcolor:bofalse; finish:nu1; timer.InvertAuraBelow:nu0; timer.dual:bofalse; timer.HideLeadingZeros:bofalse; timer.h:nu1; timer.ShowOnAuraHide:bofalse; timer.UpdatePing:bofalse; timer.Texture:stDefault; timer.enabled:botrue; timer.Showing:botrue; timer.lastShownLarge:nu2; timer.y:nu196; timer.x:nu40; timer.CustomDuration:nu0; timer.Transparent:bofalse; timer.a:nu1; timer.HideRequest:botrue; timer.id:nu145; timer.cents:bofalse; stacks.a:nu1; stacks.Showing:botrue; stacks.HideLeadingZeros:bofalse; stacks.enabled:botrue; stacks.y:nu194; stacks.h:nu1; stacks.id:nu145; stacks.Transparent:bofalse; stacks.UpdatePing:bofalse; stacks.lastShownValue:nu4; stacks.x:nu-45; stacks.Texture:stDefault

Dream State
Version:st3.0.0E; gcd:bofalse; b:nu0; anim1:nu1; g:nu1; optunitn:bofalse; ignoremaj:botrue; stacksLower:nu0; target:bofalse; icon:stInterface\Icons\Spell_Arcane_PortalShattrath; size:nu1.2999999523163; torsion:nu1; r:nu0.35686274509804; y:nu151; x:nu0; customname:st; groupany:botrue; isAlive:botrue; timerduration:nu0; unitn:st; bufftype:nu2; stacks:nu0; focus:bofalse; raid:bofalse; texture:nu1; alpha:nu0.75; aurastext:st; symetrie:nu0; owntex:bofalse; isResting:bofalse; duration:nu0; mine:bofalse; multiids:st; inVehicle:bofalse; speed:nu1; anim2:nu0; stacksOperator:st>=; realaura:nu1; spec2:botrue; InactiveDueToState:botrue; threshold:nu50; exact:bofalse; textaura:bofalse; sound:nu0; wowtex:bofalse; groupOrSelf:bofalse; customsound:st; combat:nu0; id:nu146; inParty:nu0; HideRequest:bofalse; Active:botrue; aurastextfont:nu1; buffname:stDream State; inRaid:nu0; tooltipCheck:st; customtex:bofalse; stance:nu10; isSecondary:bofalse; thresholdinvert:bofalse; spec1:botrue; Debug:bofalse; beginSpin:bofalse; Showing:botrue; UseOldAnimations:bofalse; begin:nu0; off:bofalse; party:bofalse; texmode:nu1; inverse:bofalse; ismounted:bofalse; targetfriend:bofalse; randomcolor:bofalse; finish:nu1; timer.InvertAuraBelow:nu0; timer.dual:bofalse; timer.HideLeadingZeros:bofalse; timer.h:nu2; timer.ShowOnAuraHide:bofalse; timer.UpdatePing:bofalse; timer.Texture:stDefault; timer.enabled:botrue; timer.Showing:botrue; timer.lastShownLarge:nu1; timer.lastShownSmall:nu4; timer.y:nu247; timer.x:nu-13; timer.CustomDuration:nu0; timer.Transparent:bofalse; timer.a:nu1; timer.HideRequest:botrue; timer.id:nu146; timer.cents:botrue

And that is about it for this post.  In my next post on this fight I’m going to talk more about my healing strategy.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

