jump to navigation

GG Blizzard, You’ve Won: ICC 25s BiS List March 18, 2010

Posted by Leiyan in Icecrown Citadel, Loot, Tree.
trackback

My ICC25s Best-in-Slot Gear List

This list completely excludes any and all drops from heroic mode ICC, either 10s or 25s.  Also, this is only my current BiS gear…and I discuss below, it has been quite a trip to get to this point.

Head: Sanctified Lasherweave Helmet
Neck: Bone Sentinel’s Amulet
Shoulder: Sanctified Lasherweave Pauldrons
Back: Greatcloak of the Turned Champion
Chest: Vestments of Spruce and Fir
Wrist: Braces of Eternal Dreaming
Hands: Sanctified Lasherweave Gauntlets
Waist: Professor’s Bloodied Smock
Legs: Sanctified Lasherweave Legplates
Feet: Blessed Cenarion Boots
Finger: Marrowgar’s Frigid Eye Memory of Malygos + Ashen Band of Endless Wisdom
Trinkets: Althor’s Abacus + Purified Lunar Dust
Weapon: Trauma
Off-Hand: Sundial of Eternal Dusk
Relic: Idol of the Black Willow

Check out my WoWHead Wishlist Profile updated WoWHeadWishlist Profile to see the enchants/gems/talents I’ve chosen to go along with these pieces.

Now, as I said at the top of this post, this is just my current BiS wish list.  I have at least 5 other iterations saved in the WoWHead Profiler, and countless other small changes and edits which I didn’t record anywhere.

During my lunch break, I was re-reading the post on MMO-Champion from March 1st regarding Cataclysm Stat Changes, and this line from Eyonix really stood out to me.

Our ultimate goal is make gear a more interesting (and less confusing) choice…

Well, congrats Blizzard.  Not only have I played WoW for a bajillion hours these last two weeks (read: more hours than I would care to admit), I have also spent countless hours over the same two weeks theorycrafting my gear, my enchants, my gems, and my spec in my free time.

Despite all of that, I am still not 100% certain this is the route I want to go with my gear.

When you get right down to it, there are so many good options for speccing and gearing, all of which accomplish the same basic goal of getting myself haste capped.  After that, I just have to decide if I would rather trade talent points for stats.

Go all the way to 3/3 CF, loose Emp Touch, but gain better stats through dropping haste gems?

Get a little bit of everything with 2/3CF, 2/3 Living Spirit [see Rethinking Living Spirit from Beruthiel], 2/2 Emp Touch, and sticking with a few haste gems?

Completely ditch CF, pick up Living Seed and use Dying Light plus a bazillion Reckless Ametrine to reach the Haste Cap?

And there are so many more variations… Obviously some will appear to be better choices to you than others, but it all depends on your healing style and what you value in terms of stats.  Personally, I’ve found myself wavering between all sorts of possibilities, finding myself convinced I wanted to go one direction only to change my mind completely the next day.

Right now, I think I am pretty settled in the above list… I have spent two weeks contemplating this stuff after all.  However, I still feel as if I could play with the options and figure out another combination that I like even better.

But I will tell you this, if it was Blizzard’s goal to make gear and talent choices interesting, I’d say they are headed in the right direction as far as Restoration Druids are concerned.

Comments»

1. Sound - March 18, 2010

While I understand Marrowgar’s Frigid Eye is quite shiny, isn’t Memory of Malygos (http://www.wowhead.com/?item=50424) a bit better suited for trees?

Leiyan - March 18, 2010

Valid point. I did look at that ring a little… and I do generally favor spirit over mp5…. But at the time I was going over the gear, it really all came down to haste.

Memory of Malygos has 52 haste, Marrowgar’s Frigid Eye has 60 haste. Not too big of a difference, and if I switched around a gem to make up the haste, it looks like I would gain 10 spell power and loose 6mp5 compared to the stats in the gear I posted above.

I’m feeling okay with my spell power right now, but I have been struggling with mana in some fights in the last few weeks, so I think I was favoring mana regen over all as well. In my 25s this evening, however, I didn’t come across any mana issues, so perhaps I’ve taken enough steps in that direction for now.

Either way, I suppose when we get a Sindragosa kill I’ll probably look into getting Memory of Malygos. But, since I already have Marrowgar’s Frigid Eye its not that high a priority. Another healer/dps can take it while I save up some points for my t10 tokens and Althor’s Abacus.

Edit: And, I did say in my original post that I’m not 100% settled on my gear/gem/spec choices. =) Now I really am rethinking that ring choice!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

