jump to navigation

Looking Forward to Frostwing Halls January 21, 2010

Posted by Leiyan in Icecrown Citadel.
trackback

With the Crimson Halls opened just two days ago for the first time, I find that I am really looking forward to the next wing of Icecrown Citadel.

I don’t mean to say I am eager to put the Plagueworks and Crimson Hall behind me (well, okay, maybe I am looking forward to moving past Plagueworks with all of its…”body humor”… ), but I am definitely interested in seeing what fights await us with Valithria, Sindragosa, and of course the Lich King himself.

My guild, like many I would suspect, was really tired of our uninspired runs through Trial of the Grand Crusader.  We zoned in, killed bosses and looted, all the while growling at Highlord Tirion as he dealt us back-handed compliments (“Alas, you are victorious….” is certanily my most hated line in all of World of Warcraft).

Icecrown was a much-anticipated and very welcome change.  Suddenly we were fighting in, not a single room, but a hallway of rooms, and there was an elevator!  And, best of all, an airship battle that required you to wear rocket-packs!  Well, the novelty may have worn off by now, but given the choice between running the first four bosses of ICC and the first four of ToCG for eternity, ICC wins hands down.  At least this instance has some scenery changes!

The Plagueworks has been an interesting addition.  Festergut quickly became one of the easiest fights in the game for our guild, once we figured out what was happening.  Rotface is still a bit of a challenge, but we don’t have much trouble on that front either.  Putricide still stumps us, but I think we all have a feeling that tonight will be the night he dies.

As for the Crimson Halls, my 10s group last night managed to put down the Blood Prince Council after about 5 or 6 attempts.  We also got two attempts in on Blood Queen Lana’thel before having to call it a night, and that fight looks like a lot of fun.  I am excited about trying both of these new fights in 25s this week.

And so, as the title of my post suggests, I am really really looking to the next and final wing of Icecrown Citadel.  This instance has been a blast so far and I have nothing but high expectations for what is to come.  It feels like Blizzard has really been stretching their creative wings in designing this place… I hope they keep it up in all the raids to come!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

